Sometimes I wish my daughter was a boy

Sometimes I wish I was raising a boy…

Because it’s easier to teach a boy to respect girls than it is to teach a girl that she deserves respect, AND how to handle the reality that she won’t always get it.

Because it’s easier to teach a boy to stop when girls say no than it is to teach a girl to say no AND how to fight off a boy who keeps going anyway.

Because it’s easier to train a boy to not interrupt than it is to teach a girl to not interrupt AND how to speak over someone trying to silence her.

Sometimes I wish I was raising a boy…

Because it’s easier to teach a boy how to care for and love children than it is to teach a girl to care for the love children AND that she doesn’t have to apologize for not wanting any.

Because it’s easier to teach a boy how to be self-sufficient than it is to teach a girl how to be self-sufficient AND that she is not obligated to be any man’s maid or cook just because they’re together.

Because it’s easier to teach a boy good hygiene than it is to teach a girl good hygiene AND that she doesn’t have to shave/wear makeup/walk in heels for anyone other than herself.

Sometimes I wish I was raising a boy…

Because it’s easier to teach a boy to take his place in the world without apology than it is to teach a girl the same lesson.

I assume, anyway. Any parents of both wanna weigh in?

One thought on “Sometimes I wish my daughter was a boy

  1. There are somethings as a woman, that I didn’t learn. I have to figure out what they are. It takes a lot of self reflection while my daughter is still young, so as I learn, she will be taught. I hoped for a boy as well. Worrying about doing her hair (when I need mine done), teaching her femininity (when I’m learning myself), and yes, picking and choosing her role as a partner in a relationship weighs heavily on me. It’s stressful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

