Why I’m Not Going to Use “Tired” As A Descriptor Anymore

IMG_9988

“How are you doing?”

“I’m good.”

“You look a little pale. Everything okay?”

“I’m just tired.”

It’s like the script that never ends. “Tired” has become a stand-in adjective for everything from angry to distracted. Feeling overwhelmed? “I’m just tired.” Experiencing devastating trauma? “Just tired.” Mad as a hornet? “Just tired.”

It’s bullshit, and I’m gonna stop.

Most of the time, I’m actually pretty happy. I have a good life. I have a beautiful apartment, a strong and smart daughter, a healthy relationship with a devoted man, and I’m in pretty decent shape. On average, I’m a happy, energetic individual.

But on the days when the stars aren’t as sparkly, I’m going to be honest about it. When I’m sad, I’m going to say so. When I’ve gone through something difficult, I’m going to be real, or just tell people I’d rather not discuss it. I’m over using “tired” as a catch-all term for “experiencing an emotion that I assume you don’t care to hear about.”

That said, today I am actually, properly sleepy, so I’m gonna go get more coffee. Ta!

Leave a Reply

